California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, August 22, 2017) This Saturday night, August 26th, the USAC/California Lightning Sprint Car Series will make its second and final appearance of 2017 at “The Southern California Home of Major League Sprint Car Racing,” Perris Auto Speedway. Joining the CLS at The PAS on “California Racers Hall of Fame Night” will be the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and The PAS Senior & Young Gun Sprints. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. and racing will begin at 7:00.

Saturday’s race will be round #13 for the CLS in 2017. One thing that has been a constant all season long is Jarrett Kramer leading the championship point chase every inch of the way. The 35-year-old Spring Valley resident kicked off the year by winning two of the first three races. That second victory came at the Bakersfield Speedway on March 25th and the 2010 CLS Champion has not won since then. However, he has been consistent enough to maintain his lofty position on top of the standings all year. Kramer comes into Saturday’s race 58-points ahead of Lakewood teenager Aiden Lange. Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, a four-time CLS Champion, is third and is followed by 2016 “Rookie of the Year” Cody Nigh of Camarillo and Murrieta’s Chris Dickey.

The USAC/California Lightning Sprint Cars getting ready for the green flag before a packed grandstand at Perris Auto Speedway on Memorial Day weekend. Please give photo credit to Doug Allen.

Michnowicz, who leads the series with four wins in 2017, won the CLS other race on The PAS half-mile clay oval on Memorial Day weekend. Over the past three seasons, he has won four of the seven races staged at The PAS. Other winners besides Michnowicz and Kramer in 2017 are Dickey (2 wins), Madera’s Charlie Carracilo (2 wins) and A.J. Bender (1 win) of San Diego and Washington’s Zack Keefe (1 win).

Fans wishing to attend Saturday’s race at The PAS can find the track at 18700 Lake Perris Drive in Perris (92571). The track phone number is (951) 940-0134 and the website is:

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 1404
2. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1346
3. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 1255
4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1239
5. Chris Dickey – Murrieta - 1116
6. Eric Greco - Palmdale – 1102
7. Wyatt Downing Lakewood - 953
8. Brent Sexton – Lakeside - 912
9. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena – 896
10. Jon Robertson - Torrance – 861

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – A.J. Bender
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National - Chris Dickey
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
November 18: Bakersfield Speedway – Western States Lightning Championship USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768